Layers of the Atmosphere:  The Earth’s Atmosphere is Broken Down Into The Following Layers And Several Secondary Levels.

The primary layers are, from lower atmospheric layer to upper: the troposphere, stratosphere, mesosphere, thermosphere, and exosphere.  

Troposphere The troposphere is our atmosphere’s lowest layer. It rises to nearly 10 kilometres (6.2 miles, or 33,000 feet) above sea level, starting at ground level.

Stratosphere  The second layer is known as the stratosphere (layers of atmosphere). The stratosphere exists from the top of the troposphere to roughly 50 km (31 miles) above the ground.

Mesosphere This one is the third layer of the atmosphere. The mesosphere, located between 50 and 80 kilometres (31 and 50 miles) above the Earth’s surface, becomes colder as height increases.

Thermosphere This is the fourth layer of the atmosphere. The thermosphere is located between 80 and 700 kilometres (50 and 440 miles) above the Earth’s surface. It contains the ionosphere at its lowest point.

Exosphere Although some specialists believe that the thermosphere is the uppermost layer of our atmosphere, others believe that the exosphere is the true “final frontier” of Earth’s gaseous envelope.